Cumbrian Prog Rockers THE SUN EXPLODES Reveal Album Release And New Video

the sun explodes band second album

Cumbrian rockers The Sun Explodes have announced that they will release their second studio album, We Build Mountains on 22nd July 2013.

Crossing a multitude of genres, We Build Mountains can be generally described as prog. Although the band touts influences as diverse as Queen, Periphery, Metallica and Muse.

“We try to create the music that’s in our heads without a specific agenda and without attempt to fit into a particular set of genre brackets or scene,” comments guitarist Alex Harris, “It’s important to us to try and avoid regurgitating our own influences, and just write music that will sound great on a CD and performed live, not one or the other. With all that being said, the number one philosophy in the band is to have fun doing what we do; we take our music very seriously, but not ourselves.”

Check out their video for SevenThreeOne‘, below.

Cumbrian Prog Rockers THE SUN EXPLODES Reveal Album Release And New Video the sun explodes progressive rock Progressive metal  photo MetalMouth.netWe Build Mountains Tracklisting:  

1: Fear of Falling
2: We Build Mountains
3: A Thousand Fires
4: Machines Pt.1
5: Machines Pt.2
6: SevenThreeOne
7: Lamia
8: Serpentine

We Build Mountains is set for worldwide self-release on July 22nd, 2013. Of their début album Emergence, the press responded with praise:

Prog magazine: “Emergence deserves to be admired and rewarded.”

Guitar techniques (4/5): “The musicianship is exceptionally high, spending a long time on the road honing their skills has paid dividends. There is a definite sound and approach here that is both original and impressive”

The physical copy of their début is sold out, but you can pick up a digital copy of Emergence here: itunes.artist/the-sun-explodes | | |


Creator and owner of, now OMNIA GRAVIS. Addicted to the metulz, Bloodstock, Dave Grohl, and Gojira. I sleep little. Often a bit sweary. ALL HAIL OWLS.

Lost Password

Skip to toolbar